Administration

Administration

Arvin-Joanna Kendrick
Joanna Kendrick

Principal

Arvin-Joanna Kendrick
Joanna Kendrick

Principal

jkendrick@grimmwayacademy.com

Arvin-Greg West
Greg West

Vice Principal

Arvin-Greg West
Greg West

Vice Principal

gwest@grimmwayacademy.com

Why did you choose to work at Grimmway Academy?
The Grimmway Academy mission and philosophy is very strong and evident in everything we do. It is refreshing to work in a school that is passionate about the work we do.

What do you enjoy most about living and working in Kern County? 
I enjoy the fact that although Kern County covers a large area, it still feels like a very close and connected community.

Why did you decide on a career in education?
I was a struggling student when I was in K-12. I originally wanted to be a child psychologist but after my BA in psychology, I realized I wanted to work as a school counselor so I could help the students who struggled like I did.

What is your favorite inspirational quote?
“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.” (Matt 6:24)

What is your teaching philosophy?
Compassion. Each student comes to the classroom with a different experience and background knowledge. I strive to identify each student’s unique needs and personality so I can help them become successful.

As a child, what was your favorite book?
Mystery and Adventure books. I loved reading the books where at the end of each chapter, you got to decide what happened next. Based on your decision, you turned to a different chapter in the book. I loved being able to read the same book multiple times and it was always different.

College: California State University, Bakersfield; University of La Verne; Fresno Pacific University

Residence: Bakersfield

Leadership Team

Arvin-Sabrina Reimert
Sabrina Reimert

Dean of Individualized Instruction

Arvin-Sabrina Reimert
Sabrina Reimert

Dean of Individualized Instruction

sreimert@grimmwayacademy.com

Why did you choose to work at Grimmway Academy?
Grimmway Academy develops all teachers to become better at their craft.

What do you enjoy most about living and working in Kern County?
The families in Kern County are wonderful to be around and work with.

Why did you decide on a career in education?
I’ve always enjoyed helping children reach their goals.

What is your favorite inspirational quote?
“The only way to do great work is to love what you do.”

What is your teaching philosophy?
Student collaboration is key in my classroom. Kids learn more from each other than from a teacher.

What do you like to do in your free time?
I enjoy going to the gym and spending time with my family and friends.

College: University of LaVerne

Residence: Bakersfield

Arvin-Miryam Flores
Miryam Flores

Dean of Student Services

Arvin-Miryam Flores
Miryam Flores

Dean of Student Services

mflores@grimmwayacademy.com

Why did you choose to work at Grimmway Academy?
Grimmway Academy is a school that is making positive changes to education, leaving politics aside, and focusing on what is best for kids. I want to be a part of this change and I want to work with teachers and staff that believe in the same philosophy.

What do you enjoy most about living and working in Kern County? 
Kern County is a family-oriented community that works hard to meet the needs of all children.

Why did you decide on a career in education?
I want to be the difference in the lives of children.

What is your favorite inspirational quote?
“The ones who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.” -Steve Jobs

What is your teaching philosophy?
I approach the classroom using the Responsive approach which incorporates the students’ social and emotional growth into their academic learning. I feel that children learn best through social interaction. I also feel it is important that children are taught social and emotional skills along with their academic lessons.

Who was your most influential teacher? What made him or her so influential?
Mr. Luna, my fourth grade teacher. He was the first person to tell me that I was a leader and always had high expectations of me. He challenged me and inspired me to become the best
person I can be.

College: Loyola Marymount University; California State University, Bakersfield

Residence: Bakersfield

Arvin-Katelyn Prosser
Katelyn Prosser

Intervention Coordinator

Arvin-Katelyn Prosser
Katelyn Prosser

Intervention Coordinator

kprosser@grimmwayacademy.com

Why did you choose to work at Grimmway Academy?
The students are part of a unique opportunity at Grimmway. They have multiple teachers throughout the school day that are dedicated to helping them learn and grow. I wanted to be a part of that unique experience and I believe that what we are doing here is very special.

What do you enjoy most about living and working in Kern County?
I love that we are close to so many great places including the mountains and the beach.

Why did you decide on a career in education?
A career in education provides new and exciting challenges each day. Working with kids brightens each day, and working to see growth in your students is an amazing experience.

What is your favorite inspirational quote?
“Our job is to teach the students we have. Not the ones we would like to have. Not the ones we use to have. Those we have right now. All of them.” -Dr. Kevin Maxwell

What is your teaching philosophy?
I want my students to develop a love of books and reading. I try to create an environment where reading is fun, exciting, and engaging.

What do you like to do in your free time?
I enjoy spending time with my husband, reading, running, and hiking.

College: Saint Mary’s College of CA

Residence: Bakersfield

Office Staff

Arvin-Maria Moreno
Maria Moreno

Office Manager

Arvin-Maria Moreno
Maria Moreno

Office Manager

mmoreno@grimmwayacademy.com

Arvin-Jackie Garcia
Jackeline Garcia

Office Secretary

Arvin-Jackie Garcia
Jackeline Garcia

Office Secretary

jgarcia@grimmwayacademy.com

Arvin-Olga Gomez
Olga Gomez

Elementary Receptionist

Arvin-Olga Gomez
Olga Gomez

Elementary Receptionist

ogomez@grimmwayacademy.com

Arvin-Berenice Parra
Berenice Parra

Middle School Receptionist

Arvin-Berenice Parra
Berenice Parra

Middle School Receptionist

bparra@grimmwayacademy.com

Makeup-Karmen Molina
Carmen Molina

School Nurse

Makeup-Karmen Molina
Carmen Molina

School Nurse

kmolina@grimmwayacademy.com

Arvin-Samantha Gallardo
Samantha Gallardo

Afterschool Coordinator

Arvin-Samantha Gallardo
Samantha Gallardo

Afterschool Coordinator

sgallardo@grimmwayacademy.com

placeholder-Copy-4
Shawn Claxton

IT Specialist

placeholder-Copy-4
Shawn Claxton

IT Specialist

sclaxton@grimmwayacademy.com

Grimm Family Education Foundation

BGM
Barbara Grimm-Marshall

Founder and President

BGM
Barbara Grimm-Marshall

Founder and President

bgmarshall@grimmeducation.org

Foundation-Neil Shah
Neil Shah

Chief Operating Officer

Foundation-Neil Shah
Neil Shah

Chief Operating Officer

nshah@grimmeducation.org

Maureen Farrell

Vice President, Strategic Talent Management

Maureen Farrell

Vice President, Strategic Talent Management

mfarrell@grimmeducation.org

Foundation-Evelyn Steed
Evelyn Steed

Compliance Manager

Foundation-Evelyn Steed
Evelyn Steed

Compliance Manager

esteed@grimmeducation.org

Foundation - Mike Romero
Mike Romero

Human Resources Manager

Foundation - Mike Romero
Mike Romero

Human Resources Manager

mromero@grimmeducation.org

Foundation-Rosie Etcheverry
Rosie Etcheverry

Executive Assistant to the President

Foundation-Rosie Etcheverry
Rosie Etcheverry

Executive Assistant to the President

retcheverry@grimmeducation.org

Makeup-Stephanie Pierucci
Stephanie Pierucci

Human Resources Assistant

Makeup-Stephanie Pierucci
Stephanie Pierucci

Human Resources Assistant

spierucci@grimmeducation.org

Foundation-Eric Mendez
Eric Mendez

Administrative Assistant

Foundation-Eric Mendez
Eric Mendez

Administrative Assistant

emendez@grimmeducation.org

Foundation-Rick Phillips
Ricky Phillips

Accounting Clerk

Foundation-Rick Phillips
Ricky Phillips

Accounting Clerk

rphillips@grimmeducation.org